Lamp Lovin’

I have been crafting up a storm the past couple of weeks! While it’s fantastic, it also means that I’ve neglected Pearls. To whet your appetites, here are some pictures of my latest completed project.

Every year, my family heads down to Hill Country to a little slice of heaven known as Wimberley. For the past few years, my sister and I have been meaning to pay a visit to the thrift store that is right by the place we stay, 7A Ranch. This past May we finally made it in.

Lo and behold, I found this rusty treasure of a lamp. I’d never seen a lamp that was also a table–tacky fabulous–and it was still in working condition.

In all its tarnished glory.

It has such a great, unique shape, and I could just see (despite my dad’s doubts) the potential for a beautiful transformation.

I started by deciding the original lampshade just had to go; it had a rough life and the drive back to Dallas in the bed of my boyfriend’s truck didn’t help its rips and tears. After this, I cleaned and sanded the body of the lamp to ensure that the paint would go on smoothly.

I originally planned on redoing the lamp in a rich, creamy yellow, but when I got to Home Depot to check out their spray paint collection, this beautiful plum color called my name. And I’m so glad it did. After three coats, it turned out even better than my original vision.

Isn't it a beautiful color?

Once I had that chunk of work out of the way, I headed down to Target to find a cream/white lampshade. I kept it circular to match the table–a squared shade wouldn’t have fit the feel of the overall piece. I completed the project by putting a coat of polyurethane on the table to protect the paint.

Ta-da!

What do you think?

Linked up at What I Whipped Up Wednesday!

7 Comments

Filed under Crafts

7 responses to “Lamp Lovin’

  1. Ms Layman

    A little reminder of good times in your “slice of heaven” each time you look at your recycled beauty. I’m so glad that you love Wimberly! 7-A Ranch should put your blog on their website.

  2. Tracy

    Great before and after! The plum color is pretty fantastic. How long did this take you?

    • Tracy,

      Once I actually started the work, it only took me two days–I did the cleaning and painting one day (letting each coat dry thoroughly) and then left it to dry overnight. The next day I headed to Target to get the lampshade, did the polyurethane, and called it good!

      Thanks for the support–I love getting comments from readers!

  3. Kelly

    Beautiful! For some reason it’s shorter than I imagined. Where are you going to put it in the apartment? Also, thanks for the correct spelling of whet, I learned something new today :). Miss you!

    • Thank you! It’s currently homeless–our apartment is a bit of a mess while we get ready to move. It’ll have a nice home in the new apartment. 🙂
      We do strive for correct spelling in all our endeavors here on Pearls, so I’m glad I could help. 😉
      I miss you so much; thanks for the blog lovin’. 🙂

  4. Cool lamp and cool blog.

Leave a Reply

