The Beauty in Books

Issac Salazar Book Art

I think it’s safe to say that you all know at least this one thing about me by now: I love books. My love for all (almost) all things crafty has yet to be showcased much on Pearls, but I promise it’s right up there with books. So imagine my delight to see how popular book art is becoming!

I’ve made one book craft in the past few months, which is nowhere near as advanced as the gorgeous works of art that I will showcase in just a minute. I got my inspiration from a tutorial over at Recovering Craft Hoarder. As soon as I saw it I knew I had to make my own; it was love at first sight. So the boyfriend and I made our way over to Half Price Books and went straight to the clearance section. I found the perfect book, Not Quite What I Was Planning: Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous and Obscure (Harper, 2008), for one dollar! Rather than straight text, this book has pages and pages of—you guessed it—six-word memoirs, all in different fonts, all on different places on the pages. Some of the pages are a natural color, some are black, some are gray with a dotted pattern. All this allowed the look of the finished project to be that much more organic and unique. (And it was an entertaining read!)

I set about folding all the pages in half, which didn’t take nearly as long as I feared it would, and then I cut the pages from the cover. We glued a piece of scrapbook paper to the backing of a shadowbox (for the record, I tried my hardest to find a page that wasn’t red so I didn’t seem like quite such a copycat, but in the end this paper just looked the best–you can’t quite tell in the small version of the picture, but it has a cracked texture), and set about gluing the spine down flat on the paper. To be on the safe side, we also glued the first and last folded pages down as well. We knocked the glass out of the shadowbox frame and placed the backing in its rightful place. Voila! Book art! I won’t lie; my guy and I were pretty proud of ourselves. For more detailed, visual instructions, click here.

The finished product!

And again!

I had a lot of fun working on that craft, and I love the way it turned out. However, these next two artists totally blow my measly folded pages away.

Issac Salazar (also made the piece photographed at the beginning of this post)

Brian Dettmer [The Book Surgeon]

{This is truly some of the most amazing art I’ve ever seen. Hauntingly beautiful.}

Amazing.

Awesome.

Fantastic.

What inspiring art have you seen lately?

3 Comments

Filed under Crafts

3 responses to “The Beauty in Books

  1. Ms Layman

    Holy Moley! Just think of what you could do with “War and Peace”.

  2. Daniel

    I like the “Modern Painters” one best.

Leave a Reply

